How to cancel YouTube TV
If you’ve “cut the cord” with a YouTube TV subscription, but now want cancel YouTube TV itself, here’s how to do it.
Cancel or pause YouTube TV in the browser
On the YouTube website, click on your avatar in the upper right corner. Choose Settings from the drop-down menu. Then select Membership from the menu on the left. Under YouTube TV, you will see a “Suspend or Cancel Subscription” option.
The first allows you to stop your membership from four weeks to six months. Your YouTube TV account will be suspended after the next billing date and you will not be charged during the break period.
By taking a break, you keep the current recordings in the library, but you will not have access to YouTube TV or new recordings. All family accounts will also be suspended. After the break period ends, you will be billed and have full functionality again, or you can manually end the break earlier and resume the subscription whenever you want. If you prefer to suspend your account, just click PAUSE.
However, if you want to cancel, you can do so at the bottom right with CANCEL MEMBERSHIP. YouTube will ask you the reason you’re canceling – such as the cost or missing shows – then you can complete the process by clicking CONTINUE CANCELLATION.
Cancel YouTube TV on iPhone and Android
If you have an iPhone, visit tv.youtube.com on your browser and follow the same steps outlined above.
Android users can cancel YouTube TV directly from the Google help site. You can also visit tv.youtube.com on your browser or open the YouTube TV app and follow the same steps.
What happens after I cancel YouTube TV?
After canceling YouTube TV, you will always have access to it until the end of the current pay period. Then, the programs saved in your library will expire after 21 days.
YouTube will save your library preferences if you re-subscribe, but you may not be able to access previous recordings or be able to benefit from promotions applicable to new subscribers.
Choosing which streaming service you want is difficult, but at least canceling the one that isn’t working for you is easy.